Unforgiven by Cat Miller

Published July 30, 2012 by Ema Volf

Unforgiven has released a day early! Buy it here!

I was fortunate enough to have been gifted an ARC copy if Unforgiven by Cat Miller for review! Unforgiven is the second book in the Forbidden Bond series. I had read Unbound, the first book in the series, and LOVED it, so needless to say, I was extremely flattered to be given the opportunity!

Unforgiven starts where Unbound left off. Dani (Soleil) and Chase are at their bonding ceremony, when Dani is abducted by Darren, who still believes that Dani is his mate. In Unbound, he had given her his blood so she would live after The Rogue had almost completely drained her, changing her into a full vampire. This event created a blood bond that was, unfortunately for Darren, one-sided. The Rogue, as we also learned in Unbound, has been kidnapping young vampires and draining them to steal their abilities in his quest for power.

In this book, we get to see much more of Brandi than we were able to see in the last one. Just before Dani’s bonding ceremony, she had decided that she wants to stop blending into the shadows and start standing out in her vampire society, so she gave herself a makeover. Much of this book is watching Brandi as she tries to find out who she is and what she wants to be. We also find that Brandi has a surprising new power that she’s trying to learn how to control.

In addition to the characters we saw in Unbound, we also get to meet a few fascinating new ones! This includes two new swoon-worthy men who are competing for Brandi’s attentions. Greyson, the typical warrior hero and Derek. You thought Cayden was your favorite bad boy? Just wait until you meet Derek.

We also get to watch Derek as he tries to decide whether Brandi is enough of a reason to leave his bad boy lifestyle behind him. Can someone who has forever hidden in the shadows survive in the light? Can Brandi forgive Derek’s past transgressions? What will happen to his mother, who Derek believes is being held captive as a guarantee of Derek’s complete subservience? Who are really the traitors to the vampire nation. And who is aiding The Rogue financially and slipping him information? For that matter, who is The Rogue exactly? Are you sure?

I enjoyed the fact that Cat gave us several instances where she went back and gave us a completely different side of the story from a completely different character. When I started to feel comfortable with one character, Cat immediately whisked me away to another before I got bored. When I was comfortable with one situation, Cat shook it up a bit for me. There were enough twists and turns to keep me on edge, but not so many to leave me utterly confused.

I also enjoyed the fact that there was very little “fluff” in the book to distract me. Everything that happened, happened for a reason. There wasn’t any filler in an attempt to make the book longer.

As she did with Unbound, Cat gave us amazing and colorful characters. Our “leading ladies” are women that we can look up to and respect, even though they make some major mistakes. They show us that it’s okay to mess up and it’s just part of life. I thoroughly enjoy stories with lessons. It makes me extremely happy to see that this series has several that can be applied in everyday life.

Also, as Cat did with Unbound, she gave me, the reader, a book with a story that I would like to live in for a while. It was very hard for me to put this book down, and the only reason I did, was because I was in dire need of sleep after this book kept me up until 4am.

Leave a Reply

