Random annoyances

Published July 11, 2012 by Ema Volf

I’ve been looking back on some reviews I’ve done in the past, on seller sites or through emails. I’ve noticed a trend on most of the negative reviews I’ve given. Lame female lead characters that are put there for us to look up to. It’s not the ONLY thing I knock off for, but it’s definitely one of the majors ones.

There is a difference between not having the power to do something and being completely incompetent in nearly every way possible. Not skilled in the art of fighting? Fine. Brainpower. Use it. If you’re not creative or smart, nor are you able to fight or defend yourself or others, why are you a lead character? Why are all these other people going out of their way to destroy you? And why are your companions going out of their way to save you? Don’t tell me it’s because you’re “good,” because there are countless other “good” characters in your world. Like the ones that are constantly saving your rear end.

Speaking of companions …

I don’t mind when the female character doesn’t WANT to be without whomever. I mind when they feel like they will absolutely, positively DIE without them. This doesn’t mean that I mind when said person rescues them when they would have died on their own. I mind when said person disappears, and the female lead either waits in place for them to come back or behaves in a suicidal manor.

Remember in Shrek the 3rd when all the girlies get locked up and Snow White says, “Ladies, assume the position!” and Sleeping Beauty goes to sleep, Snow White lays down in her coffin pose, and Cinderella sits on the floor and stares dreamily into space? Or in New Moon when Edward left and Bella decided she wanted to die of exposure? Yeah that’s not cool at ALL.

And to be fair, I can’t stand it when the males are that way either. There is a HUGE difference between being willing to die for someone and attempting to die because you’re without someone.

If these characters are growing into those people that we can look up to by the end, fine. I’m okay with this too. But show me that growth. Don’t just think I’ll assume that there’s been some by the beginning of the next book when you haven’t even shown it to me in the first.

Leave a Reply

